FORUM
UK Gig Guide
UK Music Venues
Music News
Directory
ENCYCLOPAEDIA
History
Composers
Quotations
World
Instruments
Calendar
TECHNICAL
Hardware
MIDI
Audio
Science
Programming
THEORY
Tutorials
Notation
Tools
Home | Encyclopaedia | Calendar | 1963

Musical Events Making the News in 1963


Tuesday 19th February 1963
Artist Sealhenry Samuel (aka Seal) was born.
Today in Music History
Wednesday 20th February 1963
Ian Brown, formerly of the Stone Roses born
Today in Music History
Friday 22nd February 1963
Beatles start their own music publishing company (Northern Songs).
Today in Music History
Tuesday 5th March 1963
Patsy Cline dies.
Today in Music History
Sunday 10th March 1963
Pearl Jam bassist Jeff Ament was born.
Today in Music History
Friday 5th April 1963
Beatles recieve their first silver disc (Please Please Me), a song thought by some to be about oral sex.
Today in Music History
Monday 8th April 1963
Julian Lennon was born.
Today in Music History
Sunday 21st April 1963
Beatles meet Rolling Stones for 1st time
Today in Music History
Sunday 12th May 1963
Bob Dylan walks off Ed Sullivan Show
Today in Music History
Wednesday 15th May 1963
Peter, Paul & Mary win their first Grammy (If I Had a Hammer)
Today in Music History
Friday 24th May 1963
Elmore James suffers a fatal heart attack in Chicago at age 45.

 
Monday 27th May 1963
Bob Dylan's 'The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan' album was released under Columbia.

 
Tuesday 25th June 1963
Andrew Ridgeley of Wham was born.

 
Wednesday 26th June 1963
British artist George Michael was born.
Today in Music History
Saturday 3rd August 1963
The Beatles play their last gig at the Cavern.
Today in Music History
Friday 9th August 1963
Singer Whitney Houston was born.

 
Thursday 22nd August 1963
Singer Tori Amos was born.

 
Thursday 31st October 1963
Johnny Marr, guitarist for The Smiths, was born.

 
Friday 1st November 1963
Def Leppard drummer Rick Allen was born.

 
Thursday 28th November 1963
I Want to Hold Your Hand is 1st record to sell a million copies prior to its release.

 
Friday 29th November 1963
Beatles release I Want to Hold Your Hand.

 

Errors, omissions, comments? Send us your feedback