FORUM
UK Gig Guide
UK Music Venues
Music News
Directory
ENCYCLOPAEDIA
History
Composers
Quotations
World
Instruments
Calendar
TECHNICAL
Hardware
MIDI
Audio
Science
Programming
THEORY
Tutorials
Notation
Tools
Home | Encyclopaedia | Calendar | 1964

Musical Events Making the News in 1964


Wednesday 1st January 1964
The BBC broadcasts the first "Top of the Pops" TV music show.
Today in Music History
Monday 13th January 1964
Bob Dylan's 'The Times They Are A-Changin' album was released under Columbia.
Today in Music History
Wednesday 5th February 1964
Guns N' Roses rocker Duff McKagan was born.
Today in Music History
Friday 7th February 1964
Beatles land at New York's JFK airport, for their first US tour.
Today in Music History
Wednesday 12th February 1964
Beatles first NYC concert (Carnegie Hall).
Today in Music History
Tuesday 10th March 1964
Artist Neneh Cherry was born.
Today in Music History
Monday 23rd March 1964
John Lennon's first book, "In His Own Write" is published.
Today in Music History
Monday 30th March 1964
Singer/songwriter Tracy Chapman born
Today in Music History
Tuesday 26th May 1964
American artist Lenny Kravitz was born.

 
Friday 24th July 1964
A riot erupts at a Rolling Stones concert in Blackpool, UK.

 
Friday 31st July 1964
Singer Jim Reeves dies.

 
Wednesday 5th August 1964
Beastie Boy M.C.A., aka Adam Yauch was born.

 
Saturday 8th August 1964
The Rolling Stones have another riot at one of their concerts. This one is in the Hague, Netherlands.

 
Thursday 15th October 1964
Cole Porter dies.

 
Saturday 14th November 1964
Rapper Run of Run D.M.C. was born.

 
Friday 27th November 1964
Mick Jagger was fined ?16 for driving offenses in Totenhall, England.

 

Errors, omissions, comments? Send us your feedback