FORUM
UK Gig Guide
UK Music Venues
Music News
Directory
ENCYCLOPAEDIA
History
Composers
Quotations
World
Instruments
Calendar
TECHNICAL
Hardware
MIDI
Audio
Science
Programming
THEORY
Tutorials
Notation
Tools
Home | Encyclopaedia | Calendar | 1967

Musical Events Making the News in 1967


Saturday 28th January 1967
Rolling Stones release "Let's Spend the Night Together"
Today in Music History
Friday 3rd February 1967
"Purple Haze" recorded by Jimi Hendrix.
Today in Music History
Friday 17th February 1967
Beatles release "Penny Lane" & "Strawberry Fields".
Today in Music History
Monday 20th February 1967
Kurt Cobain of Nirvana born
Today in Music History
Monday 27th February 1967
Pink Floyd record their first single, "Arnold Layne".
Today in Music History
Friday 17th March 1967
Billy Corgan of the Smashing Pumkins was born.
Today in Music History
Thursday 30th March 1967
Cover picture of Beatles' "Sergeant Pepper" album is photographed.
Today in Music History
Friday 31st March 1967
Jimi Hendrix begins his tradition of burning his guitar.
Today in Music History
Sunday 16th April 1967
Drum n Bass DJ Grooverider (a.k.a. Raymond Bingham) born
Today in Music History
Wednesday 10th May 1967
Keith Richards, Brian Jones & Mick Jagger arrested on drug charges
Today in Music History
Wednesday 17th May 1967
Dylan's 1965 UK Tour is released as the film "Don't Look Back"
Today in Music History
Friday 23rd June 1967
John Entwistle of The Who marries Alison Wise.

 
Friday 23rd June 1967
John Entwistle of The Who marries Alison Wise.

 
Friday 7th July 1967
Steve Boone and Zal Yanofsky from the Lovin' Spoonful were arrested for drug use in San Francisco .

 
Thursday 24th August 1967
The members of the Beatles meet with the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi for the first time in London.

 
Saturday 26th August 1967
Jimi Hendrix's "Purple Haze" is released.

 
Monday 28th August 1967
The Grateful Dead and Big Brother and the Holding Company play at the wake of a Hell's Angels member who was struck by a car in San Francisco.
Today in Music History
Sunday 3rd September 1967
Folk singer Woody Guthrie died of Huntington's Chorea in New York City. He was 52.

 
Monday 2nd October 1967
All six members of the Grateful Dead are busted by California narcotics agents for possession of marijuana in San Francisco.

 
Friday 20th October 1967
Davy Jones of The Monkees opened his own 'Zilch', boutique in Greenwich Village, New York.

 
Monday 27th November 1967
The Beatles release "Magical Mystery Tour".

 
Saturday 9th December 1967
Jim Morrison is arrested onstage in New Haven, Connecticut.

 
Sunday 10th December 1967
Otis Redding dies.
Today in Music History

Errors, omissions, comments? Send us your feedback