FORUM
UK Gig Guide
UK Music Venues
Music News
Directory
ENCYCLOPAEDIA
History
Composers
Quotations
World
Instruments
Calendar
TECHNICAL
Hardware
MIDI
Audio
Science
Programming
THEORY
Tutorials
Notation
Tools
Home | Encyclopaedia | Calendar | 1969

Musical Events Making the News in 1969


Sunday 5th January 1969
Marilyn Manson was born.

 
Wednesday 8th January 1969
R. Kelly was born.

 
Tuesday 14th January 1969
Dave Grohl of the Foo Fighters and Nirvana was born.
Today in Music History
Thursday 30th January 1969
The Beatles make their last-ever public appearance as a group, performing on the roof of Apple Studios at 3 Saville Row, London.
Today in Music History
Saturday 1st March 1969
Jim Morrison was arrested for exposing himself during a live show
Today in Music History
Wednesday 12th March 1969
Paul McCartney marries Linda Louise Eastman in London
Today in Music History
Thursday 20th March 1969
Beatle John Lennon marries Yoko Ono in Gibraltar
Today in Music History
Tuesday 25th March 1969
John & Yoko stage their 1st bed-in for peace in Amsterdam
Today in Music History
Saturday 29th March 1969
Perry Farrell of Jane's Addiction and Porno For Pyros, was born.
Today in Music History
Friday 16th May 1969
The Who's Pete Townsend & Roger Daltrey charged with assault
Today in Music History
Wednesday 21st May 1969
John Lennon and Yoko Ono begin a ten-day "bed-in" in Montreal's Queen Elizabeth Hotel.

 
Monday 26th May 1969
John Lennon and Yoko Ono begin their second "Bed-In For Peace" in Montreal.

 
Saturday 7th June 1969
Blind Faith plays a free concert in London's Hyde Park in front of an estimated 120,000 people.

 
Sunday 8th June 1969
Brian Jones announces he was leaving The Rolling Stones because he didn't agree with the band's musical direction. Less than a month later he would be found dead in the swimming pool at his home.
Today in Music History
Monday 9th June 1969
Guitarist Mick Taylor joins The Rolling Stones as Brian Jones' replacement.
Today in Music History
Sunday 15th June 1969
American rapper and ex member of N.W.A., Ice Cube, was born.

 
Friday 20th June 1969
The 3 day Newport '69 Festival starts in Northridge, California.

 
Wednesday 2nd July 1969
Bassist Noel Redding and drummer Mitch Mitchell quit the Jimi Hendrix Experience.

 
Thursday 3rd July 1969
Former Rolling Stones guitarist Brian Jones is found dead in his swimming pool at his Cotchford Farm, Hartfield, England home.

 
Wednesday 9th July 1969
Courtney Love was born.

 
Friday 11th July 1969
David Bowie's single, "Space Oddity", was released to coincide with the first lunar landing.

 
Tuesday 22nd July 1969
Aretha Franklin is arrested for disorderly conduct after creating a disturbance in a Detroit parking lot.

 
Friday 15th August 1969
The Woodstock Music and Art Fair opens for three days on Max Yasgur's farm in Bethel, New York. Over 400,000 attend, most without tickets.

 
Thursday 9th October 1969
British artist P.J. Harvey was born.

 
Saturday 11th October 1969
Bluesman Muddy Waters was seriously injured and three other people were killed in a car crash near Chicago.
Today in Music History
Tuesday 11th November 1969
Jim Morrison of the Doors is jailed for "interfering with the flight of an intercontinental aircraft and public drunkenness."

 
Saturday 15th November 1969
Janis Joplin was arrested in Tampa, Florida on charges of using "vulgar and indecent language" at her concert. After being arrested in her dressing room, Joplin was released on $504 bond.
Today in Music History
Tuesday 25th November 1969
John Lennon returns his MBE to Queen Elizabeth, citing British involvement in the Nigeria-Biafra war, political support of the U.S. position in Vietnam and the poor reception given to the Plastic Ono Band's "Cold Turkey."

 
Wednesday 26th November 1969
Creams final concert Royal Albert Hall

 
Saturday 29th November 1969
The Beatles single Come Together goes to Number 1.

 
Saturday 29th November 1969
John Lennon was convicted of possesion of cannabis and fined $360 in a London court.

 
Saturday 6th December 1969
Four people die at a Rolling Stones concert at the Altamont Speedway in Livermore, California, including one who was stabbed by a Hell's Angel who was hired to act as a security guard.

 

Errors, omissions, comments? Send us your feedback