FORUM
UK Gig Guide
UK Music Venues
Music News
Directory
ENCYCLOPAEDIA
History
Composers
Quotations
World
Instruments
Calendar
TECHNICAL
Hardware
MIDI
Audio
Science
Programming
THEORY
Tutorials
Notation
Tools
Home | Encyclopaedia | Calendar | 1970

Musical Events Making the News in 1970


Friday 16th January 1970
John Lennon's London Art gallery exhibit of erotic lithographs, Bag One, is closed by Scotland Yard and eight prints are confiscated as evidence of pornography.
Today in Music History
Monday 26th January 1970
Australia's first rock festival, the Ourimbah Rock Festival is attended by 11,000 people over the weekend. There are only 26 arrests.
Today in Music History
Friday 20th February 1970
Albert Louis Wolff, French composer, dies at 86

 
Friday 6th March 1970
Beatles release "Let it Be" in the UK.
Today in Music History
Monday 16th March 1970
Tammi Terrell, best known for her duets with Marvin Gaye, died.
Today in Music History
Friday 20th March 1970
David Bowie marries American-born model Angela Barnett.
Today in Music History
Sunday 22nd March 1970
American singer Mariah Carey was born.
Today in Music History
Thursday 9th April 1970
Paul McCartney announces the official split of the Beatles
Today in Music History
Saturday 11th April 1970
Peter Green quits Fleetwood Mac, whilst touring in Munich,Germany.
Today in Music History
Thursday 7th May 1970
"The Long and Winding Road" becomes Beatles last American release.
Today in Music History
Tuesday 9th June 1970
Bob Dylan receives an honorary doctorate of music degree from Princeton University

 
Tuesday 23rd June 1970
Chubby Checker and three others are arrested in Niagra Falls after marijuana and unidentified drug capsules are found in Checker's car.

 
Saturday 18th July 1970
Pink Floyd and Deep Purple play a free concert at London's Hyde Park.

 
Thursday 30th July 1970
The Rolling Stones fire Allen Klein as their manager.

 
Saturday 8th August 1970
Janis Joplin buys a head stone for singer Bessie Smith's grave in Philadelphia, 33 years after her death.
Today in Music History
Friday 14th August 1970
Singer Stephen Stills was arrested on cocaine possession charges at a motel in La Jolla, California. He was released on $2,500 bail.

 
Monday 17th August 1970
Christine McVie joins Fleetwood Mac.

 
Thursday 20th August 1970
The official opening party forJimi Hendrix's studio "Electric Lady" in New York was held.

 
Thursday 3rd September 1970
At the Palermo Pop '70 Festival in Italy, Arthur Brown (of the Crazy World of..) was arrested and put in solitary confinement for four days after he set fire to his helmet and stripped naked during his stage performance.

 
Wednesday 16th September 1970
Jimi Hendrix makes his final public appearance,jamming with Eric Burdon and War at Ronnie Scott's club in London.

 
Friday 18th September 1970
Jimi Hendrix dies.

 
Thursday 1st October 1970
Jimi Hendrix was buried in his hometown of Seattle, Washington.

 
Sunday 4th October 1970
Janis Joplin dies.
Today in Music History
Tuesday 13th October 1970
Janis Joplin's ashes are scattered off the coast of California.
Today in Music History
Thursday 19th November 1970
James Brown, married Deidre Yvonne Jenkins on the front porch of her Barnwell, South Carolina house.

 
Wednesday 25th November 1970
Saxophonist Albert Ayler, a giant of the jazz avant-garde and a major influence on Frank Zappa, was found drowned in New York's Hudson River.

 

Errors, omissions, comments? Send us your feedback